Success Through Failure

Failing at stuff sucks. Let’s just get that out there. However, if it weren’t for failure, success wouldn’t be so sweet. Over the past few weeks, as 2009 was coming to a close and 2010 was quickly approaching, I’ve been taking stock of where I’d been and what I had accomplished in 2009, and where I want to head in 2010. More to come in a future blog post on where my goals lie in the future, but I want to spend some time looking at one of the greatest challenges I faced in 2009…obtaining my CrossFit Level 2 Trainer Certification.

For those of you who have no clue what that is, the Level 2 Certification is an intensive 2-day process where you are evaluated and graded on your ability to teach the 9 fundamental movements of CrossFit – the squat, front squat, overhead squat, press, push press, push jerk, deadlift, sumo-deadlift high pull and medicine ball clean. These movements are the basis of most every other movement you can do in CrossFit, and therefore proper instruction and communication of these movements to athletes is vital to their development in these movements and many others. There are six evaluation areas – how well you can teach the movements, how well you see error or deficiency in the movements, how well you can correct those deficiencies that are identified, how well you demonstrate the movement, how well you manage the group of athletes, and your presence and command as you lead the group. There’s about a 30% pass rate and successful completion of this test is challenging to say the least, but it is a great accomplishment in the CrossFit community.

It took almost all year, but I finally passed my Level 2 in September 2009 after 2 other failed attempts. Let’s just say that my year was full of challenging moments and there were times where I asked myself why I was putting myself through all of the emotional stress. I had to continuously remind myself that the pain I was feeling was only me molding myself into a more capable and able trainer. The truth is, anything that is worthwhile in life has a tendency to be hard. As a wise man (aka my grandfather) once told me “If things worthwhile were easy, everyone would be doing it.” I know, I know, you’ve heard that before, but sometimes we forget and have to be reminded. Sometimes we let life overwhelm us. You have to remember that anything worthwhile is usually challenging and if you give up, you have lost the battle. Don’t be afraid to fail and continue to persevere, even when every odd is against you…eventually you will reach success…and it will be sweet!

2 thoughts on “Success Through Failure

  1. Congratulations on getting your Level 2, Trish! It was a hard-earned and amazing accomplishment! Great post about staying positive and persevering through adversity–I think we can all relate, and it helps to be reminded.

Leave a Reply

