Friday, January 13, 2012

Went to CrossFit Elysium to train with my buddy Paul. Many of you know, but I still like to mention that Paul was my first personal trainer at 24 Hour Fitness when I arrived here in San Diego back in 2007. I ditched 24 Hour not long after our first 5 introductory sessions ran out because I had discovered CrossFit. Little did I know, a couple of years later, we would reconnect through CrossFit. Small world…but super happy that I’ve maintained that connection. 🙂

So, I still wasn’t feeling 100% today, but I trained through…I needed to lift a barbell. Here’s what Paul’s sick and twisted mind came up with:

Work up to a 1RM of the following complex:
1 Rack Snatch Grip Push Press
1 Rack Snatch Grip Push Jerk into an Overhead Squat
1 Snatch Balance

I started out at 83#, went to 93#, then 103#, then 113#, then 118#. Failed on the first 118# attempt, but regrouped and made it a second time. Attempted 120# but had nothing left for the push press. Next time…

Then,

9 C&J’s
18 Pullups
7 C&J’s
14 Pullups
5 C&J’s
10 Pullups
(165#/115#)

Paul 4:23 Rx’d
Trish: 7:14 Rx’d

Ah, fun times…

Leave a Reply

